Scheepstimmerwerf De Hoop
The shipyard 'De Hoop’ was founded in 1693 by Juntien Reijnders, besides the than already existing sash lock in Workum. He gave orders to build a carpentry shed where in the time ships could be build. The yard was renovated in the 19th century and restored in the seventies of the 20th century. The complex consists of a house, a hillside barn, a timber yard and a slipway. During the yards’ existence mainly wooden fishing ships where build such as 'Boeiers, Blazen, Schokkers, Aken, Tjalken and Skûtsjes’.
In the beginning of the 20th century the owner at that time, Ulbe Zwolsman, expended the company with an iron yard. Here he build three coastal ships, the first iron ships of Friesland. Due to the fact that Zwolsman did not get permission to expend the yard and also because the sash lock could not be expended Zwolsman went back to building wooden ships. After the death of his son in 1973 who took over the yard in 1942 the whole complex was threatened to be demolished. The engineer and architect Reid de Jong, inhabitant of the lighthouse of Workum managed to avoid demolition. He developed a plan to renovate the buildings. The renovation took place in the years 1976 and 1977. After this the yard functioned as a reparation- and construction yard for historic ships. In 2009 the yard was expended with a 'Blazerhaven’, who is in use as a 'museum harbor’. In the harbor there is still the by Ulbe Zwolsman build blazer TX 11 for the fishers from Texel. The carpentry shed is, according to the Rijksdienst voor het Cultureel Erfgoed, the oldest existing carpentry shed of West-Europe.